About the Department | Find A Doctor | Contact Us |

  About Us

  Department History

  Residency Programs

  Clinical Divisions

  Before Surgery


  Contact Us

  Donate Now
Department History

Our Illustrious Leaders
The history of the Department of Surgery is perhaps best read through the profiles of its chairmen and directors. Here, beginning with the current chairman, is a look at the leaders who steered the department through its impressive history of progressive and innovative care.

William B. Inabnet III, MD
Dr. Inabnet became Chairman of the Department of Surgery in October 2014. Previously he was the Division Chief of Endocrine Surgery at Mount Sinai Hospital. Dr. Inabnet is an international authority in the field of minimally invasive endocrine and laparoscopic surgery. He has pioneered new techniques in minimal access endocrine neck surgery as well as adrenal and pancreatic surgery. Dr. Inabnet is also a leader in the field of minimally invasive bariatric surgery with a keen interest in disorders of the endocrine system in obese patients, especially type 2 diabetes.

Martin S. Karpeh, Jr., MD, FACS
Dr. Karpeh is a nationally renowned surgical oncologist who served as the Chairman of the Department of Surgery from 2007 to 2014. Dr. Karpeh also served as Associate Director of the Continuum Cancer Centers of New York (CCNY) and Director of Surgical Oncology for CCCNY at Beth Israel and St. Luke's - Roosevelt.

George Todd, MD, FACS
Through our alliance in Mount Sinai Health System, Dr. Todd was Interim Chairman of Surgery from 2005 to 2007. He is a well-known and innovative vascular and endovascular surgeon. He is Professor of Surgery at Columbia University and Chairman of Surgery at Mount Sinai St. Luke's Roosevelt.

Anthony C. Antonacci, MD, FACS
Dr. Antonacci served as the Chairman of the Department of Surgery from 2000 to 2005. He also served as Associate Chairman of Surgery from 1996 to 2000, and has been an attending surgeon at Beth Israel since 1990. He is widely published and is the recipient of numerous academic and research awards, including from the National Institutes of Health, the Smith, Kline & French Fellowship, the George T. Heuer Scholar in Academic Surgery Award, the Calder Foundation Award, and the Presidentís Award from the American College of Surgeons.

Moses Nussbaum, MD, FACS
The late Dr. Nussbaum served as Acting Chairman from 1991 to1993, and as Chairman from 1993 to 2000.  His career at Beth Israel spanned 56 years.  For many years he served as Chief of the Division of Head & Neck Surgery and Co-Director of the Institute for Head and Neck and Thyroid Cancer.

Charles K. McSherry, MD
The late Dr. McSherry was an internationally recognized authority on diseases of the biliary system, and revolutionized the department with recruitment and programmatic development. Dr. McSherry was Director of Beth Israel's Department of Surgery from 1977 to 1991.

William Wolff, MD
The late Dr. Wolff  was Director of Beth Israel's Department of Surgery from 1970 to 1977.

Leon Ginzburg, MD
The late Dr. Ginzburg was one of the three co-authors of the original and seminal paper on Regional Enteritis. This paper is recognized as one of the Landmark Articles of the 20th Century in Colon and Rectal Surgery. Dr. Ginzburg, a technically gifted surgeon and clinical researcher, stressed innovation in educational endeavors. Dr. Ginzburg was Director of Beth Israel's Department of Surgery from 1947 to 1970.

Privacy Policy | Site Map
Copyright ©  Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai | Mount Sinai Health System